Whiskey Time: Laphroaig 10 Year

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If this is going to be a semi-regular topic on the blog, I figured I’d discuss one of my favorite go-to whiskeys, Laphroaig 10 year. (Lah-FROYG)

This is a Scotch and it is good.

I generally try to keep my whiskey purchases to $30 and under per bottle, however I have to make an exception for single malt Scotch. This 10 year is available at my local shop for around $40, which for what you get, makes this a huge bang for buck. After my initial contact with another Islay (EE-lay) Scotch by the name of Ledaig (LEH-jig) in York, England last year, I’m partial to this region’s output. We’re talkin’ tangy peaty goodness here with campfire smokiness pervading and a long lingering flavor. To me, this is what I think of when I specifically crave Scotch.

My girlfriend complains that it smells like gasoline (but she says that about practically all Scotch) so I just smile and try not to point it in her direction, like it’s a loaded gun. Plus, she can buy a whole case of her usual Trader Joe’s wine for the cost of one of these bottles, so I’m losing points for my lack of frugality as well, even though this is some dirt cheap stuff for a decent single malt. For what it’s worth, this is a very fragrant drink. I like the way it smells when mixed with the right kind of cool autumn air. I imagine that’s about right, and probably even intended, given the Laphroaig distillery is located right on the southern coast of Islay, Scotland.

I have other selections that I’d consider my absolute favorite (and I’ll get to those here eventually), but for the money, Laphroaig 10 is exceptional and is the Scotch I drink the most.

Leave a Reply

